sweet release

The wet slap slap of the rain, as swollen drops from the rooftops thwack onto the river of the road below. It reminds me of Thailand, this muggy heat – oppressive tension, followed by the cascading relief each day, always the same in the monsoon.

My ears ache for that sound, the high sshhhh as the wheels carve their tracks through the flood, white jets of water spraying behind them. The gentle patter when it starts, building and building until the loud thundering, drumming cacophony, each drop its own furious hammer against the world below.

Suddenly, there is a cool breeze, the air disturbed by all this movement. It surprises me. My skin forgets, my body forgets. Over this long summer we have all forgotten the way it feels. The cooler months are coming. This thought awakens me, and I pull a thin blanket across over my shoulders, shivering with soft anticipation.

your thoughts?

